Registration # 6621
D.O.B. 07/07

HI! My name is Carmela.

"I hope to be a chef or gymnastics teacher when I grow up!"

Carmela is an outgoing and friendly ten-year-old girl of African American descent. Some of Carmela’s favorite activities include coloring, gymnastics, playing with her dolls and styling their hair. Carmela has been doing entry-level gymnastics which has helped with her balance, coordination, strength and confidence. Carmela is very social with both adults and children, and she is always interested in building relationships. The adults in her life say Carmela is curious and asks lots of questions. In school, Carmela’s favorite subjects are science, art and music. She enjoys going to school and learning new things. Carmela also really enjoys family time and responds well to caretakers who provide a lot of structure and redirection.

Carmela is legally freed for adoption and will be most likely to succeed in a home with parents who have previous parenting experience and will support her around making safe choices. Due to Carmela having intellectual and emotional needs, Carmela will require a lot of attention at home, which might be better served with two parents. Carmela has court ordered monthly visits with her biological sister and the Department is offering monthly visits to Carmela’s maternal grandmother and her husband. It would be ideal if an identified family would be willing to maintain Carmela’s connection with her grandmother even though it is not court ordered. Carmela should be the youngest or only child in her future home.

If you'd like more information about me, please fill out the Information Request Form.