MAPP Training Events

Participation in the Massachusetts Approach to Partnership in Parenting (MAPP) curriculum is required of all prospective foster and adoptive families in Massachusetts. MAPP Training is offered both by the Department of Children and Families (DCF) and contracted adoption agencies. MARE does not offer MAPP training. After a prospective family’s application has been submitted to an agency and preliminary screenings are met with approval, families will be invited to attend the ten week training.

The training curriculum prepares adults to adopt a child from foster care who has experienced neglect and abuse. The training covers such topics as communication, building self-esteem, child guidance, understanding behaviors, and working with agencies and courts. The training will also include discussions about the children who are waiting to be adopted and resources and support available to you as an adoptive family.

MAPP Training Organizations

DCF-Statewide:

Ascentria Care Alliance – Worcester:
Eryne Cotter (774) 243-3072 or ecotter@ascentria.org

Berkshire Child and Family Services – Hadley:
Linda-Jeanne Mack at 413-584-5690 or lmack@berkshirechildren.org

Bright Futures Adoption Center/RFK – Acton:
Karen Cheyney at (978) 263-5400 or kcheyney@rfkchildren.org

Cambridge Family and Children’s Service – Cambridge:
Sarah Medrano-Palmer at (617) 876-4210 or smedrano-palmer@helpfamilies.org

Child and Family Services – Lawrence:
Melissa O'Meara at 978-687-5852 or momeara@cfservices.org

Child and Family Services – Fall River:
Kerry Mello at (774)-488-5072 or kerrymello@cfservices.org

Children’s Friend – Worcester:
Veronica Listerud at (508) 753-5425 or vlisterud@childrensfriend.org

Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (MSPCC)- Jamaica Plain:
Sybil Turk, at (617)-587-1519 or sturk@mspcc.org

The Home for Little Wanderers – Dorchester:
Karin Gemeinhardt at (617) 264-5368 or kgemeinhardt@thehome.org

The following is a list of upcoming MAPP Trainings.

Boston Region: DCF Training in Boston

Wednesday October 31st, 2018 to Wednesday January 16th, 2019 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Boston, Massachusetts

Western Region: DCF Training in Springfield

Tuesday November 27th, 2018 to Tuesday January 15th, 2019 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Western Regional Office 4th Floor 140 High Street
Springfield, Massachusetts

Southern Region: Child and Family Services Training in Fall River

Saturday January 12th, 2019 to Sunday January 27th, 2019 9:00AM - 5:00PM
66 Troy Street
Fall River, Massachusetts 02720

Central Region: DCF Training in Worcester

Saturday October 13th, 2018 to Saturday November 17th, 2018 9:30AM - 3:30PM
13 Sudbury St
Worcester, Massachusetts

Western Region: Berkshire Children and Families Training in Hadley

Friday February 1st, 2019 to Friday March 1st, 2019 TBD - TBD
220 Russell Street Suite 200
Hadley, Massachusetts 01035

Central Region: Children's Friend Training in Worcester

Thursday November 29th, 2018 to Thursday February 7th, 2019 6:00PM - 9:00PM
21 Cedar Street
Worcester, Massachusetts 1609

Boston Region: The Home for Little Wanderers Training in Dorchester

Thursday January 31st, 2019 to Saturday February 16th, 2019 9AM to 5PM - 6PM to 9PM
50 Redfield St. Suite 300
Dorchester, Massachusetts 02122