MAPP Training Events

Participation in the Massachusetts Approach to Partnership in Parenting (MAPP) curriculum is required of all prospective foster and adoptive families in Massachusetts. MAPP Training is offered both by the Department of Children and Families (DCF) and contracted adoption agencies. MARE does not offer MAPP training. After a prospective family’s application has been submitted to an agency and preliminary screenings are met with approval, families will be invited to attend the ten week training.

The training curriculum prepares adults to adopt a child from foster care who has experienced neglect and abuse. The training covers such topics as communication, building self-esteem, child guidance, understanding behaviors, and working with agencies and courts. The training will also include discussions about the children who are waiting to be adopted and resources and support available to you as an adoptive family.

MAPP Training Organizations

DCF-Statewide:

Ascentria Care Alliance – Worcester:
Eryne Cotter (774) 243-3072 or ecotter@ascentria.org

Berkshire Child and Family Services – Hadley:
Alaina Fox at (413) 584-5690 x116 or afox@bershirechildren.org

Bright Futures Adoption Center/RFK – Acton:
Karen Cheyney at (978) 263-5400 or kcheyney@rfkchildren.org

Cambridge Family and Children’s Service – Cambridge:
Sarah Medrano-Palmer at (617) 876-4210 or smedrano-palmer@helpfamilies.org

Child and Family Services – Lawrence:
Kali Martin at (978) 687-5852 ext.237 or kmartin@cfservices.org

Child and Family Services – Fall River:
Kerry Mello at (774)-488-5072 or kerrymello@cfservices.org

Children’s Friend – Worcester:
Veronica Listerud at (508) 753-5425 or vlisterud@childrensfriend.org

Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (MSPCC)- Jamaica Plain:
Sybil Turk, at (617)-587-1519 or sturk@mspcc.org

The Home for Little Wanderers – Dorchester:
Karin Gemeinhardt at (617) 264-5368 or kgemeinhardt@thehome.org

The following is a list of upcoming MAPP Trainings.

DCF Boston Training

Tuesday February 20th, 2018 to Tuesday December 25th, 2018 6pm - 9pm

Boston, Massachusetts

DCF West Tranining

Tuesday February 20th, 2018 to Tuesday December 25th, 2018 6pm - 9pm

Springfield, Massachusetts

Bright Futures Adoption Center

Thursday September 13th, 2018 to Thursday November 15th, 2018 6pm - 9pm
36 Knox Trail Suite 206
Acton, Massachusetts 01720

Children's Friend

Wednesday April 25th, 2018 to Wednesday June 27th, 2018 6pm - 9pm
21 Cedar Street
Worcester, Massachusetts 01609

MAPP Training at The Home for Little Wanderers

Saturday September 8th, 2018 to Saturday September 29th, 2018 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
50 Redfield St. suite 300
Dorchester, Massachusetts 02122