MAPP Training Events

Participation in the Massachusetts Approach to Partnership in Parenting (MAPP) curriculum is required of all prospective foster and adoptive families in Massachusetts. MAPP Training is offered both by the Department of Children and Families (DCF) and contracted adoption agencies. MARE does not offer MAPP training. After a prospective family’s application has been submitted to an agency and preliminary screenings are met with approval, families will be invited to attend the ten week training.

The training curriculum prepares adults to adopt a child from foster care who has experienced neglect and abuse. The training covers such topics as communication, building self-esteem, child guidance, understanding behaviors, and working with agencies and courts. The training will also include discussions about the children who are waiting to be adopted and resources and support available to you as an adoptive family.

MAPP Training Organizations

DCF-Statewide:

Ascentria Care Alliance – Worcester:
Christine Coelho (774) 243-3072 or ccoelho@ascentria.org

18 Degrees – Hadley:
Kaisa Clark at 413-584-5690 or kclark@18degreesma.org

Bright Futures Adoption Center/RFK – Acton:
Karen Cheyney at (978) 263-5400 or kcheyney@rfkchildren.org

Cambridge Family and Children’s Service – Cambridge:
Sarah Medrano-Palmer at (617) 876-4210 or smedrano-palmer@helpfamilies.org

Child and Family Services – Lawrence:
Melissa O'Meara at 978-687-5852 or momeara@cfservices.org

Child and Family Services – Fall River:
Kerry Mello at (774)-488-5072 or kerrymello@cfservices.org

Children’s Friend – Worcester:
Veronica Listerud at (508) 753-5425 or vlisterud@childrensfriend.org

Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (MSPCC)- Jamaica Plain:
Sybil Turk, at (617)-587-1519 or sturk@mspcc.org

The Home for Little Wanderers – Dorchester:
Karin Gemeinhardt at (617) 264-5368 or kgemeinhardt@thehome.org

The following is a list of upcoming MAPP Trainings.

Western (1 event)

-

DCF Training in Springfield

Rolling MAPP held on Tuesdays, 6:00PM-9:00PM
Western Regional Office 4th Floor 140 High Street
Springfield, Massachusetts

Central (3 events)

-

Children's Friend Training in Worcester

Thursday November 7th, 2019 to Thursday January 16th, 2020 6:00pm - 9:00pm
505 Pleasant Street
Worcester, Massachusetts 01609

DCF Training in Worcester

Rolling MAPP held on Wednesdays 6:00PM-9:00PM
13 Sudbury St
Worcester, Massachusetts

Bright Futures Training in Acton

Tuesday January 14th, 2020 6:00pm - 9:00pm
36 Knox Trail Suite 206
Acton, Massachusetts 01720

Southern (1 event)

-

Child and Family Services Training in Fall River

Saturday January 11th, 2020 09:00am - 05:00pm
66 Troy St
Fall River, Massachusetts 02720

Northern (2 events)

-

CFCS Training in Cambridge

Saturday January 11th, 2020 10:00am - 4:00pm
60 Gore St.
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02141

CFCS Training in Cambridge

Saturday May 2nd, 2020 10:00am - 4:00pm
60 Gore St.
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02141

Boston (1 event)

-

Home for Little Wanderers Training in Dorchester

Wednesday January 22nd, 2020 to Saturday February 8th, 2020 06:00pm - 09:00pm
50 Redfield Street Suite 306
Dorchester, Massachusetts 02122