MAPP Training Events

Participation in the Massachusetts Approach to Partnership in Parenting (MAPP) curriculum is required of all prospective foster and adoptive families in Massachusetts. MAPP Training is offered both by the Department of Children and Families (DCF) and contracted adoption agencies. MARE does not offer MAPP training. After a prospective family’s application has been submitted to an agency and preliminary screenings are met with approval, families will be invited to attend the ten week training.

The training curriculum prepares adults to adopt a child from foster care who has experienced neglect and abuse. The training covers such topics as communication, building self-esteem, child guidance, understanding behaviors, and working with agencies and courts. The training will also include discussions about the children who are waiting to be adopted and resources and support available to you as an adoptive family.

MAPP Training Organizations

DCF-Statewide:

Ascentria Care Alliance – Worcester:
Eryne Cotter (774) 243-3072 or ecotter@ascentria.org

Berkshire Child and Family Services – Hadley:
Alaina Fox at (413) 584-5690 x116 or afox@bershirechildren.org

Bright Futures Adoption Center/RFK – Acton:
Karen Cheyney at (978) 263-5400 or kcheyney@rfkchildren.org

Cambridge Family and Children’s Service – Cambridge:
Sarah Medrano-Palmer at (617) 876-4210 or smedrano-palmer@helpfamilies.org

Child and Family Services – Lawrence:
Kali Martin at (978) 687-5852 ext.237 or kmartin@cfservices.org

Child and Family Services – Fall River:
Kerry Mello at (774)-488-5072 or kerrymello@cfservices.org

Children’s Friend – Worcester:
Veronica Listerud at (508) 753-5425 or vlisterud@childrensfriend.org

Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (MSPCC)- Jamaica Plain:
Sybil Turk, at (617)-587-1519 or sturk@mspcc.org

The Home for Little Wanderers – Dorchester:
Karin Gemeinhardt at (617) 264-5368 or kgemeinhardt@thehome.org

The following is a list of upcoming MAPP Trainings.

Southern Region: Child and Family Services MAPP Training

Saturday October 13th, 2018 to Sunday October 28th, 2018 9:00AM - 5:00PM
66 Troy Street
Fall River, Massachusetts 02720

Boston Region: The Home for Little Wanderers MAPP Training

Tuesday November 13th, 2018 to Saturday December 8th, 2018 6:00PM - 9:00PM
50 Redfield Street Suite 306
Dorchester, Massachusetts 02122

Boston Region: Massachusetts Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Children MAPP Training

Saturday October 20th, 2018 to Saturday November 10th, 2018 9:00AM - 4:00PM
3815 Washington St Suite 2
Boston, Massachusetts 02130

Northern Region: DCF MAPP Training

Tuesday September 25th, 2018 to Tuesday November 27th, 2018 6:00PM - 9:00PM
50 Walkers Brook Drive
Reading, 01867

Boston Region: DCF MAPP Training

Wednesday October 31st, 2018 to Wednesday January 16th, 2019 6:00PM - 9:00PM

Boston, Massachusetts

Central Region: DCF MAPP Training

Saturday October 13th, 2018 to Saturday November 17th, 2018 9:30AM - 3:30PM
13 Sudbury St
Worcester, Massachusetts

Western Region: DCF MAPP Training

Tuesday September 25th, 2018 to Tuesday November 27th, 2018 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Western Regional Office 4th Floor 140 High Street
Springfield, Massachusetts

Central Region: Children's Friend Inc MAPP Training

Thursday September 27th, 2018 to Thursday December 6th, 2018 6:00PM - 9:00PM
20 Cedar Street
Worcester, Massachusetts 01609