MAPP Training Events

Participation in the Massachusetts Approach to Partnership in Parenting (MAPP) curriculum is required of all prospective foster and adoptive families in Massachusetts. MAPP Training is offered both by the Department of Children and Families (DCF) and contracted adoption agencies. MARE does not offer MAPP training. After a prospective family’s application has been submitted to an agency and preliminary screenings are met with approval, families will be invited to attend the ten week training.

The training curriculum prepares adults to adopt a child from foster care who has experienced neglect and abuse. The training covers such topics as communication, building self-esteem, child guidance, understanding behaviors, and working with agencies and courts. The training will also include discussions about the children who are waiting to be adopted and resources and support available to you as an adoptive family.

MAPP Training Organizations

DCF-Statewide:

Ascentria Care Alliance – Worcester:
Christine Coelho (774) 243-3072 or ccoelho@ascentria.org

Berkshire Child and Family Services – Hadley:
Linda-Jeanne Mack at 413-584-5690 or lmack@berkshirechildren.org

Bright Futures Adoption Center/RFK – Acton:
Karen Cheyney at (978) 263-5400 or kcheyney@rfkchildren.org

Cambridge Family and Children’s Service – Cambridge:
Sarah Medrano-Palmer at (617) 876-4210 or smedrano-palmer@helpfamilies.org

Child and Family Services – Lawrence:
Melissa O'Meara at 978-687-5852 or momeara@cfservices.org

Child and Family Services – Fall River:
Kerry Mello at (774)-488-5072 or kerrymello@cfservices.org

Children’s Friend – Worcester:
Veronica Listerud at (508) 753-5425 or vlisterud@childrensfriend.org

Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (MSPCC)- Jamaica Plain:
Sybil Turk, at (617)-587-1519 or sturk@mspcc.org

The Home for Little Wanderers – Dorchester:
Karin Gemeinhardt at (617) 264-5368 or kgemeinhardt@thehome.org

The following is a list of upcoming MAPP Trainings.

Boston (5 events)

-

Cambridge Family and Children's Services Training in Cambridge

Saturday March 2nd, 2019 to Saturday March 30th, 2019 10:00AM - 4:00PM
60 Gore St
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02141

Massachusetts Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Children Training in Boston

Tuesday March 12th, 2019 to Tuesday May 21st, 2019 6:00pm - 9:00pm
3815 Washington St Suite 2
Boston, Massachusetts 02130

MSPCC Training in Jamaica Plain

Tuesdays, 6:00PM-9:00PM
MSPCC/Eliot CHS 3815 Washington St. Suite 2
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts 02130

The Home for Little Wanderers Training in Dorchester

Saturday April 13th, 2019 to Saturday May 18th, 2019 9:00AM - 4:00PM
50 Redfield Street Suite 306
Dorchester, Massachusetts 02122

The Home for Little Wanderers Training in Dorchester

Saturday September 21st, 2019 to Saturday October 19th, 2019 9:00AM - 4:00PM
50 Redfield Street Suite 306
Dorchester, Massachusetts 02122

Northern (1 event)

-

DCF Training in Lawrence

Monday January 28th, 2019 to Monday April 8th, 2019
280 Merrimack Street
Lawrence, Massachusetts

Southern (2 events)

-

Child and Family Services Training in Fall River

Saturday March 30th, 2019 to Saturday April 13th, 2019 9:00AM - 5:00PM
66 Troy Street
Fall River, Massachusetts 02720

Child and Family Services Training in Fall River

Saturday March 30th, 2019 to Sunday April 14th, 2019 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Child and Family Services 66 Troy Street 3rd floor
Fall River, Massachusetts 02720

Western (1 event)

-

DCF Training in Springfield

Rolling MAPP held on Tuesdays, 6:00PM-9:00PM
Western Regional Office 4th Floor 140 High Street
Springfield, Massachusetts

Available Statewide (3 events)

-

Children's Friend Training in Worcester

Thursday March 21st, 2019 to Thursday May 23rd, 2019 6:00PM - 9:00PM
505 Pleasant Street
Worcester, Massachusetts 01609

DCF Training in Worcester

Rolling MAPP held on Saturdays, 9:30AM-12:30PM or 9:30AM-3:30PM and/or Wednesdays 6:00PM-9:00PM
13 Sudbury St
Worcester, Massachusetts

Adoption/Foster Care Information Session in Worcester

Second Wednesday of every month -- 6:00PM - 9:00 PM
13 Sudbury Street
Worcester, Massachusetts